ASSOCIATION OF COMPETITION ECONOMICS PROGRAMME FOR 2ND ANNUAL CONFERENCE

2-3 December 2004, Siena

Thursday, December 2

15:00 – 15:15

WELCOME ADDRESS

15:15 – 17:00	PLENARY SESSION	
N	Ionopolisation and abuse of a dominant position	
Chair: Advocate General Francis Jacobs, European Court of Justice		
David Evans LECG		
Jean Tirole University of Toulouse		
	John Vickers Office of Fair Trading	
	LOCATION	

17:00–17:30 COFFEE BREAK LOCATION

17:30-19:00	CONCURRENT SESSIONS	I
PANEL 1	PANEL 2	PANEL 3
Mergers: GE / Instrumentarium	Art. 81: Sport rights	Art. 82: Daubert and procedural rules
Chair: Antti Norkela		
Finnish Competition	Chair: Pierre Buigues	Chair: Frédéric Jenny
Authority	European Commission	ESSEC
Simon Bishop	Andrea Coscelli	Bill Baer
RBB Economics	Lexecon	Arnold and Porter
Benoît Durand	Stefan Szymanski	Eileen Reed
European Commission	Imperial College London	CapAnalysis
Xavier Vives	Anne Perrot	
Insead	Conseil de la Concurrrence	
LOCATION	LOCATION	LOCATION

20:00 DINNER ADDRESS: LARS-HENDRIK RÖLLER (EUROPEAN COMMISSION)

Friday, December 3

8:45 – 10:15	CONCURRENT SESSIONS II	
PANEL 4	PANEL 5	PANEL 6
Art. 81: Airline alliances	Art. 82: Rebates	Italian cases
Chair:	Chair: Massimo Motta European University	Chair: Francesco Silva University of Milano -
	Institute	Bicocca
Lars Sørgard	Amelia Fletcher	Michele Polo - Bocconi
Norwegian Competition	Office of Fair Trading	University - Predatory
Authority		behaviour in the Sicilian
		Channel: the Caronte Case
Olivier Stehmann	Bill Kovacic	Antonio Nicita -University
European Commission	Federal Trade	of Siena - Detecting
1	Commission	collusion with X-rays: the
Tom Whalen		case of radiopaque agents
US department of Justice	David Spector	Vincenzo Denicolo
2.2 sp un une un est est est est	CNRS	University of Bologna
	011110	Discussant
LOCATION	LOCATION	LOCATION

10:15 – 10:45 COFFEE BREAK

10:45 – 12:15	CONCURRENT SESSIONS III	
PANEL 7	PANEL 8	PANEL 9
Art. 82: Microsoft Chair:	Mergers: Sony / BMG Chair: Amanda Rowlatt Competition Commission	Vertical separation and competition in public utilities Chair: Alberto Heimler Italian Competition Authority
Atilano Jorge Padilla	Simon Bishop	Carlo Scarpa
LECG	RBB Economics	University of Brescia
Craig Romaine CRA	Eliana Garcés Tolón European Commission	Martin Cave University of Warwick
Sarit Markovich Northwestern University	Patrick Rey University of Toulouse	Sean Ennis OECD
LOCATION	LOCATION	LOCATION

12:30 – 13:00 GENERAL ASSEMBLY

	13:00	LUNCH	
--	-------	-------	--